In Washington, registration fees create revenue for repairing roads and other transportation-related expenses. Failure to register means fewer funds for the community. It could also mean a hefty fine.
– New residents to Washington State have 30 days from the time of their arrival to register their vehicle properly. Failure to do so is an infraction, subject to a fine of $1,122.
– If a resident registers a vehicle in another state to avoid taxes and fees, it is a crime punishable by up to 364 days in jail and $3,135 in fines, plus any delinquent taxes, fees, and applicable assessments.
The Camas Police Department's work will take place in three phases: identification, compliance, and enforcement. The department is beginning the identification phase now, so expect increased patrols in neighborhoods and school zones.
In the second phase, the Department will educate vehicle owners about Washington State law and potential penalties. After that, officers will look for vehicles in violation of the law and respond with fines and/or jail time.
Get your vehicle registered in Washington today! See http://www.dol.wa.gov/
Please contact Camas Police Department at 360.834.4151 with any questions.